Lathkill Music Publishers

Four Guitars : Steve Marsh

The Gothic Suite for four guitars by Steve Marsh

The Gothic Suite is a five movement impressionistic composition by Steve Marsh based upon an entirely imaginary tale inspired by the writings of Edgar Allan Poe.

What started life as a solo guitar piece was then arranged for full orchestra, windband and 7 part guitar ensemble.

This extremely popular work has now been definitively adapted for guitar quartet / 4 part guitar ensemble by the composer.

Each of the five movements is preceded by a short paragraph which ‘sets the mood’. In performance these could be printed on the programme, or read aloud by one of the performers before each section.

The music contains special 'ghostly' effects, some of them provided by the players themselves. The ending is inconclusive!

Aimed squarely at an ambitious guitar quartet looking for a highly entertaining, highly unusual and great fun to play recital item.

Approximately 20 minutes long.

17 page score with 41 pages of separate parts.
Grade 6
book £15
pdf £10