Lathkill Music Publishers

Four Guitars : Grieg arranged by Gary Spolding

Holberg Suite by Grieg arr. for four guitars Gary Spolding

Holberg Suite by Edvard Grieg arranged for four guitars or guitar orchestra by Gary Spolding.

Inspired by both the original piano version and the later adaptation for string orchestra, this arrangement sits very naturally on guitars and is full of character.

Each individual movement can be treated as a separate work in its own right and makes a substantial concert item - movement 4 is comparable to Albinoni’s Adagio. To play all 5 movements takes approx 22 minutes.

Instrumental roles exchange regularly throughout the movements meaning no one guitar stays overly long on either melody or accompaniment and there are passages where the parts are utilised in pairs to create contrast.

The whole suite is accessible to players of grade 5 standard, although a greater skill level is required if the outer movements are to reach their intended tempo.

A hugely enjoyable and exciting piece to play. Recommended.

15 page score and separate parts each 9 pages
Includes permission for up to 4 additional copies of each part to be made, enabling the work to be performed by up to 20 guitarists.
Grade 5
£13 (book)
£9 (pdf)